Comments: These muffins are a slight modification of a recipe found in the book The 8-Week Cholesterol Cure. We eat these almost every morning. According to the book, eating three of these muffins per day can significantly reduce your cholesterol. Obviously, you should talk to your doctor before making any changes to your diet but this has worked for us. Muffins or drugs? We’ll take the muffins! Another benefit I have found with these muffins is that I don’t get hungry as fast. With a typical bowl of cereal, Im hungry again in about 2 hours. With a couple of muffins, I don’t start wanting food again until lunchtime. Having said all of this – don’t be afraid to try these because they sound TOO healthy! They are really good!

Kyle’s Oat Bran Muffins (makes 2 batches)

4 ½ cups oat bran

2 tbsp baking powder

4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

4 egg whites

½ cup brown sugar

2 ½ cups evaporated skim milk

8 ounces blueberries

Mix everything together and bake at 425 degrees for 16 minutes.

Tip: Mix everything but the blueberries together and then carefully fold them into the batter at the end. This keeps them from breaking up. Serve warm drizzled with honey.

Variations: This is the recipe as it was given to me. I like to use more blueberries (a 10 or 12-ounce bag) and I use fresh when they are in season. Otherwise, frozen is fine. If you get bored with blueberries, other fruits work well too. I don’t have a lot of storage space for canned goods and so I just use regular skim milk. If I have ever given you these muffins, these are the variations I have used.

