Recently, I’ve been making my husband  salads to take to work for lunch.  He has been finding that when I make then heartier than normal by throwing on a handful of toasted nuts and some hardboiled egg (or avocado and fresh cheese)  that they keep him from getting hungry later in the day.  Today’s salad was a little more challenging because after it was made, I realized we didn’t have any salad dressing.  I’ve been making dressings from scratch off and on recently and  Better Homes and Gardens has an especially good one in the April 2009 issue:

Ingredients

  • Finely shredded peel and juice from 2 medium lemons
  • 3 gloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp. dijon-style mustard
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 tsp. each salt and pepper.

Combine all of the ingredients except the oil and sour cream. Then whisk the oil and sour cream in until thickened.  Easy and delicious.  The zest (or finely shredded lemon peel)  gives the dressing a REALLY lemony flavor. I used a variation of this with Kyle’s salad this morning. I reduced the recipe by roughly two-thirds and instead of lemon, I used half of a valencia orange (with peel)  and about half the amount of sour cream as oil.  I think I might like the variation more than the original!  Kyle’s salad contained spinach, toasted almonds, carrots, and orange wedges so the dressing should go especially well with it.

Perhaps tomorrow, I’ll try to come up with a basil dressing for him.

