Ripening figs

Ripening figs

Fig kabobs

Fig kabobs

Figs and Brie

Figs and Brie

About a week ago, Kyle pulled the first ripe fig of the season off of our tree. Fig season is so fleeting. We relish the sweetness of these figs every year. Figs are best perfectly ripe just off the tree. They don’t last very long once picked. This week, I’ve actually done some cooking with them. Usually, we eat them straight out of the bowl before I ever get a chance to do anything interesting with them! First, I made kabobs. They were supposed to be grilled but I couldn’t get the grill started and Kyle wasn’t home yet so I roasted them instead. The kabobs were made of alternating whole figs and chunks of halloumi cheese on rosemary skewers. I served them over a platter of arugula. Last night, I cooked the figs with some brown sugar and almonds, then placed them on a chunk of brie and baked it for fifteen minutes. That recipe came from here: Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie I’m a little ashamed to admit that while we did use a smaller chunk of brie, we ate it all in one sitting.

(I apologize for the picture quality – the camera flash has started going off when I don’t want it to go off and I need to sit down with the manual and figure out why!)

